West Virginia State Requirements


Required Continuing Education Hours

Life and Health Producers

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term. Producers planning to sell the following product(s) have special training or education requirements as described below:

Annuity Training Requirements
  • Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in West Virginia producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours.

Long-Term Care (LTC) Insurance
  • Initial 8-hour LTC training Requirement: Before selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC insurance products in West Virginia producers must complete a one-time state-approved training course of no less than 8 hours.

  • Ongoing 4-hour LTC training Requirement: A 4-hour state-approved follow-up course must be completed every 2-year licensing period after the period in which initial training was completed.

Property and Casualty Producers

24 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics, are required every 2 year license term. Producers planning to sell the following product(s) have special training or education requirements as described below:

Flood Insurance
  • Resident producers who sell federal flood insurance policies must complete a one-time 3-hour course approved for National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Limited Lines

Producers who sell only pre-need burial insurance contracts or who engage solely in telemarketing insurance products using a scripted presentation that has been filed with and approved by the Insurance Commissioner must complete 6 CE hours, including 3 hours of ethics.

Roster Fees

A roster fee of $1.50 per CE hour is required to process course completion hours in West Virginia and will be added to the order upon checkout.

Nonresident CE Requirements

Annuity Training Requirements
  • Before selling, soliciting, or negotiating annuity products in West Virginia producers must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours. Nonresidents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to West Virginia's law will be deemed compliant for West Virginia's requirement.

Long-Term Care (LTC) Insurance
  • Nonresident producer's may take an 8 hour NAIC course approved for use in any licensed state.

License Term

  • The license expiration date is the last day of the producer's birth month every two years. To view the birth month conversion chart click here.

  • Effective Immediately: The CE compliance period is every two years ending on the license expiration date. To view the notice regarding the continuing education biennium change click here.

    • Producers licensed on or before June 30, 2011: He/She was required to be in compliance by the June 30, 2012 CE compliance date. The producer will not be required to be in compliance by the expiration date currently on his/her license. The continuing education compliance end date will be at the second renewal after the end of the June 30, 2012 biennium. For example, if the producers first active date is 7/28/2008 and their first renewal expiration date is 1/31/2013, then their first CE compliance date will be 1/31/2015.

    • Producers licensed on or after July 1, 2011: He/She is required to be in compliance with CE by the expiration date currently listed on the license.

CE Subject Requirements

  • Category Restrictions: Of the 24-hour CE requirement, 3 hours must be in ethics.

  • Course Presentation: Online and correspondence self study

  • Study Requirements: Student should read the course material prior to taking the final exam.

Final Exam Requirements

  • Exam proctor requirements: Self-study final exams are required to be monitored by a disinterested third party (i.e., someone with no business or family relationship to the student).

  • Exam rules: The final exam is closed book and must be passed with a grade of 70 percent or higher to receive credit. Students have unlimited retakes.

CE Carryover Allowance

Up to 6 hours may be carried over to the next reporting period for those who must complete more than 6 hours of CE during a reporting period. Excess ethics credits are counted as general credits when carried over. Producers are required to complete at least 3 hours of ethics for every compliance term.

Course Repetition Rules

A course may not be taken for credit more than once within a 2-year license term.

Certificate of Completion

Certificates will be available to print online immediately after a final exam is passed. Producers keep the original certificates of completion in his or her files.

CE Completion Reporting

Course completions are submitted to Sircon every business day.

License Renewal Process

Renewal notices for individual resident producers and adjusters are mailed 60 days prior to the expiration date of the license to the address on record with the West Virginia Insurance Commissioner’s office. Renewals may be online at www.nipr.com or by paper. If a license is renewed online through NIPR, do not send a paper renewal.

Online license print is available from the Web site at www.wvinsurance.gov. License cards are no longer printed and mailed from WVOIC.

Nonresident adjusters who qualified for a license by taking the WV adjuster exam cannot renew online; they must submit the paper renewal form and check.

CE Exemptions

The following individuals are exempt from CE requirements:

  • Individuals licensed only for limited lines credit

  • A newly licensed individual who received a license on or after July 1 of the second year of a biennium (exempt for the first reporting period)

  • Individuals holding limited lines licenses for which an exam is not required

  • Individuals holding any limited or restricted license that the commissioner may declare exempt

  • Adjusters

  • Nonresidents

Helpful Links

Check your license status

View your CE transcript

Renew your license online

West Virginia DOI Web site

Sircon Contact Information

Phone: 877-876-4430
Fax: 404-656-0874
Web site: www.sircon.com

Prometric Contact Information

Phone: 800-805-9127
Fax: 800.735.7977
Email: Pro.ce-services@prometric.com

State Contact Information

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
Phone: 304-558-0610
Fax: 304-558-4966
Email: Agent.Licensing@wvinsurance.gov


Mailing Address:

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
Agents Licensing & Education
P.O. Box 50540
Charleston, WV 25305



American Online Insurance School provides information as a courtesy to individuals who are subject to continuing education (CE) as insurance producers, agents, adjusters and/or brokers. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and current, neither American Online Insurance School nor its employees warrant or represent that this information is accurate and current. All information is subject to change without notice.


CURRICULUM COURSES CLASSROOM HELP CONTACT US